The policy says that we need to follow the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines.

We often call these WCAG.

WCAG are a list of the rules for making online content accessible for everyone.

There are different levels of WCAG that we need to use.

WCAG 2.0 AA is the minimum level we can use.

WCAG 2.1 AA has more rules covering the needs of more people.

It has extra rules about accessibility for:

  • mobile phones
  • people with low vision
  • people with cognitive disability – they have a disability that affects how they think.

We want to use WCAG 2.1 AA whenever we can.

There is a guide called ‘How to meet WCAG’.

It’s a helpful starting point for:

  • understanding WCAG
  • how to put the rules into practice.